My First Eastern European Adventure

When trying to figure out where my mother and I were going to travel to for our annual birthday getaway we decided to try something different. Straying from our typical Roman holiday, we tossed around the idea of Northern Africa and South American countries but we ultimately decided on the Czech Republic. European friends of mine have always described Prague as the most beautiful city on the continent. After spending 11 glorious days there, I agree with their praise. Now, after going through thousands of photos I’ve narrowed things down to my top 10 favorites, let’s get started:

1. An aerial shot of Old Town Square from atop the city’s main tower.
 2. A section of the Lennon Peace Wall in Malá Strana. Before I left for vacation I wrote down a list of must-see attractions to visit, this of course being one of them. But when I got there I wasn’t sure if I was at the right place. It’s interesting because over the years the graffiti has changed so much that you have to really dig deep to still see John Lennon’s legacy under layers of paint.

3. We took a day trip to Český Krumlov, a village full of history and beauty in the south of the Czech Republic on the Austrian border. I love how these old cities keep themselves still feeling genuine by not changing the outer structure of buildings. I’ve heard people say that Prague and other cities in the country are considered the most “European” in the EU and for me the cobble stone and red roofs are what make them so genuine.

4. On one rainy day (there were several) I strayed from the pac and wandered into a museum and this was the first thing I saw. Although weapons are not my favorite, I do love the contrast of a modern gun installation in a cobble stoned courtyard. And the little boy adds some cuteness factor too, which doesn’t hurt.

5. Here we have St. Vitus Cathedral, one of the four churches on the property of Prague Castle. It looks like it could have been some gothic inspiration for a Harry Potter film, no? And I love how the eeriness is counteracted  by the beautiful purple sky.

6. The property that Prague Castle is on is just beautiful. No matter where you stood you had a great view of the landscape below. Even with a massive plant blocking the background of the shot, you can still see the Charles Bridge. 

7. Here’s a wideshot of the cement stalactite wall in the Wallenstein Gardens. If you were to be up close to the wall you could almost see faces in the cement. Very creepy ala the ghost of Christmas yet to come in a Muppet Christmas Carol. Spoooooky!

8. When walking the streets and across the bridges around town, you sort of feel like you were in Paris (not that i’ve ever been, but I can dream) and this captures that feeling perfectly. The Vltava River was always filled with Boats and cute little ducks, in this case swans.

9. You can’t talk about Prague and leave out the Charles Bridge, the focal point of the city which connects Old Town and Little Town to one another. Here you see can see it from the top of the bridge’s watch tower on my sunniest day there.10. Lastly, here’s a gate filled with locks right near the Charles Bridge. I forget the story as to how this started but I think it has something to do with love but because it’s so full, no one else can add their locks to it, so, no more love?P.S. These are in random order people I love them all just the same

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My First Eastern European Adventure

  1. Beautiful pictures. I have also heard great things about Prague and now I definitely want to go!!

  2. Jodi says:

    Love the post. Prague seems pretty awesome!

  3. These pictures are amazing!!!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

